Apply to become a TfS school

There are 162 (May 2014) Trees for Survival (TfS) schools throughout New Zealand distributed throughout the fifteen TfS regions.

See map

The TfS Kowhai School Awards recognise schools which are outstanding in their achievement of the aims and objectives of the TfS programme. See the 2013  list of TfS Kowhai Schools.

A list of TfS schools from each region involved in the TfS programme are shown below.

Region Number of Schools
Auckland 73
Bay of Plenty (inc Tauranga) 11
Canterbury 1
Gisborne 0
Hawkes Bay 3
Horizons (Manawatu-Wanganui) 18
Marlborough 1
Northland 5
Otago 1
Southland 0
Taranaki 3
Tasman (incl Nelson) 5
Waikato 30
West Coast 0
Wellington 11

Most TfS schools are fully supported by a School Sponsor but a number are not. Any group or organization wishing to be a School Sponsor of an unsupported school should in the first instance discuss this with the school and then make contact with the National Manager.

Each supported school has a partnership agreement which outlines the agreed responsibilities of the school, its School Sponsor, the local Council where appropriate and TfS Management.

You can see photographs of TfS activity in the Photo gallery.

Other Partners: Councils; Sponsors; Supporters; Champions; Landowners