Final Kowhai Award presented

Back to the Trees for Survival Newsletter

Over the past year, 30% of schools in Auckland South have been awarded Kowhai status. Their teachers are to be applauded for the effort they put in maintaining a high standard of delivery and ensuring the children are given credit for their consistent effort.

Mellons Bay Primary, Awhitu District School and Takanini School were featured in our last newsletter. Since then special award assemblies have been held for the following nine schools: Pakuranga College, St Kentigern College, Otahuhu College, Mission Heights Junior College, Point View School, Waiuku Primary School, Owairoa Primary School, Kelvin Road School, Papatoetoe High School.

Otahuhu College Trees for Survival/Horticulture teacher Brian Edgar received the award on behalf of his students. The programme at the College has been supported for many years by the Rotary Club of Otahuhu.

From left; Jose Dallimore, representing the Rotary Club of Pakuranga, Field Officer Dianne Patterson, certificates received by Sarah Pearson and Rebecca Jessop of the Pakuranga College Enviro Council, which organises the Trees for Survival team and Teacher responsible, Gail Thomas.

St Kentigern College’s Head of Department Science, Kelvin Goodall, receives the Kowhai Award on behalf of the school on the occasion of meeting Trees for Survival’s Field Officer Dianne Patterson and John Guthrie, representing the Rotary Club of Pakuranga.

At Mission Heights Junior College the programme is supported Rotary Club of Botany/East Tamaki; here a pupil representing the enviro enthusiasts with Trees for Survival Teacher Catherine Hunter after Field Officer Patterson led a lively native tree leaf identification session.

At Point View School Teachers Karyn Bower (top left) and Sherri Rhodes (rear, to right) alternate their two classes, in the work of pricking out and potting on, and share in maintaining the plant growing unit; the school is well-supported by the Rotary Club of Somerville, Rotarian Mr. James Lee (on right)

At Waiuku Primary School, runners-up in the Holyoake Award, Year 3 run the Trees for Survival unit under the caring direction of teacher Gina Yelcich. Their opportunity to star in the Moe Show episode on Trees fueled their enthusiasm! Their plant growing unit is financed by NZ Steel.

Owairoa School, highly-commended in the Holyoake Award, has their Trees for Survival programme run under the watchful eye of Teacher-responsible Claire Hargraves with help from volunteers Dave and Beth Small, and support from Tetra Pak Oceania. Their award was received by pupils Christian Marson, left, and Sam Gomez.

Kelvin Road School’s Year 4 children under teacher Dawn Taffard have an holistic approach, combining study about the environment; discussions on topics such as photosynthesis, erosion, and biodiversity with planting sessions led by Auckland Council Field Officer Rata Gordon. Funded by Winstone Aggregates, they are supported by their Environmental Manager Andrea Cave.

At Papatoetoe High School, Dianne Patterson explained the importance of planting native trees to the Kowhai House Assembly of 400 students. Later at the plant growing unit, supported by the Rotary Club of Papatoetoe West, their award was displayed by Teacher Lloyd Weldschidt, left, with students Micelle Nguyen, Michael Weldschidt, and Nicholas Keestra.